8 April 2012

Game Of Thrones: The Latest Awards News

A rundown of the latest awards news for Game Of Thrones.

2012 Hugo Awards
The nominees in the category of: Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form:
*Game Of Thrones
Captain America: The First Avenger
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
Source Code

(*Update: Game Of Thrones won the award for Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form)

The Hugo Awards reward science-fiction and fantasy works and achievements in multiple categories on multiple mediums (TV, movies, novels, short stories, etc). The results will be presented at: Chicon 7, Chicago, Illinois, August 30-September 3, 2012.
The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (WorldCon).

The 52nd Monte Carlo Television Festival
Game Of Thrones received nominations for:
TV Series - Drama Category
Outstanding Actress in a Drama - Lena Headey & Emilia Clarke
Outstanding Actor in a Drama - Peter Dinklage & Kit Harrington
*Outstanding International Producer - David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss

The Festival will be take place on June 10-14, 2012.

(*Update: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Frank Doelger, and Carolyn Strauss took home the Golden Nymphs Award for Outstanding International Producer.)

What is this festival?
Prince Rainier III of Monaco created the Monte-Carlo Television Festival in 1961 to "encourage a new art form, in the service of peace and understanding between men". Each year the award, the Golden Nymphs statuettes, are given out to the best of worldwide television programming.

The 71st Annual Peabody Awards
Game Of Thrones has won a Peabody Award. The list of winners were announced on April 4, 2012.

What are the Peabody Awards?
Among prizes for electronic media – radio awards, television awards, interactive and new media awards – THE GEORGE FOSTER PEABODY AWARDS are considered the most prestigious. Founded in 1940, the Peabody is the also the oldest electronic media award in the world, recognizing excellence, distinguished achievement, and meritorious public service.

For more info and a complete list of all the nominees and or winners click on the highlighted name of the award or festival.


Copyright © Lena Headey Fan Blog. All Rights Reserved.